The Faculty offers doctoral programmes in most health sciences and medical specialities. These doctoral programmes entail comprehensive research and require submission of a dissertation after a minimum period of study of two years.

A doctorate in Health Sciences may be obtained partly based on published scientific articles. Experienced researchers already holding a doctorate may be admitted to the DSc degree (advanced doctoral degree). The dissertation for such a senior doctorate must offer a sustained treatment of its topic on the basis of the candidate's published research.

For further information, see our Calendar.

Kindly review this document before submitting an online application.

The PhD offers the following fields of study:

  • Anaesthesiology
  • Anatomical Pathology
  • Anatomy
  • Audiology
  • Chemical Pathology
  • Clinical and Research Ethics
  • Dermatology
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Haematological Pathology
  • Health Professions Education
  • Health Sciences Rehabilitation
  • Human Genetics
  • Internal Medicine
  • Medical Microbiology
  • Medical Physics
  • Medical Physiology
  • Medical Virology
  • Molecular Biology
  • Morphological Sciences
  • Neurosurgery
  • Nuclear Medicine
  • Nursing
  • Nutritional Sciences
  • Obstetrics and Gynaecology
  • Occupational Therapy
  • Ophthalmology
  • Orthopaedic Surgery
  • Otorhinolaryngology
  • Paediatrics
  • Pharmacology
  • Physiotherapy
  • Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery
  • Psychiatry
  • Public Health 
  • Radiobiology
  • Radiological Diagnosis
  • Radiotherapy and Radio Isotopes
  • Speech-Language Therapy
  • Sport Psychology
  • Sport Science
  • Surgery
  • Thoracic Surgery
  • Urology

More information

For more information on the application process for doctoral admission, contact our Doctoral Office (Tygerberg Campus):

Head: Dr Jyothi Chabilall

Tel. +27 21 938 9778