Department of Mathematical Sciences: Mathematics Division



Administrative Officer: Ms Lisa Muller

Tel: +27 21 808 3282




Postgraduate programmes

(Visit the links below for Calendar information on the programmes' curricula)

BScHons in Mathematics with a choice of the following focuses:

  • Mathematics
  • Biomathematics

MSc in Mathematics

PhD in Mathematics

DSc in Mathematics

About the Mathematics Division

This division is responsible for teaching and doing research in pure Mathematics. This is firstly a curiosity-driven area, and our researchers are motivated by mathematical intricacy, which can then lead to applications.

This division also hosts a South African Research Chairs Initiative (SARChI) chair in Mathematical and Theoretical Physical Biosciences, in conjunction with the African Institute for Mathematical Sciences (AIMS).

Fields of study

Postgraduate students undertake research with academics in the following fields:

  • Algebra
  • Algebraic number theory and arithmetic algebraic geometry
  • Analysis of algorithms
  • Categorical algebra
  • Category theory and duality
  • Combinatorics
  • Enumeration problems
  • Functional analysis
  • Lattice theory
  • Mathematical and theoretical physical biosciences
  • Model theory