Matie Voices

SU leaders over 100 years


The first chief executive of the University held the office of chairperson of the Senate. For the first 17 years, the executives were alternately called chairperson of the Senate or rector, until the office was permanently known as rector as from January 1935. For the purposes of recordkeeping, the chairpersons of the Senate are also regarded as rectors.

From 1918 to 1981, the office of vice-chancellor was separate from that of rector and during this period of 64 years, was held by only four persons. In 1981 the offices of vice-chancellor and rector were allocated to the same person. Prof Mike de Vries was the first person to hold both offices simultaneously.

By Prof Matilda Burden

- By Prof Matilda Burden -