Current Group Members

Lauren Ball (PhD) - Block copolymers for the SMALP technology
Anya Brits (MSc) - Light-induced RAFT-mediated polymerization
Ruvimbo Chagwedera (PhD) - Drug delivery system for malaria transfer inhibition
Annerike Cronje (PhD) - Poly(aryl-triazole) foldamers
Randy Cunningham (PhD) - Copolymerization of maleic anhydride and N-vinylpyrrolidone
Rudolf Dreyer (PhD) - Polymeric metal chelates
Leanne Kellermann (PhD) - Reversible hydrogels
Gestél Kuyler (PhD) - Polymers for GPCR isolation and investigation
Bennie Motloung (PhD) - Cellulose nanofibers-based materials
Rueben Pfukwa (Senior Lecturer) - Main research interests: synthetic polymer chemistry and supramolecular behaviour of polymers
Sinothando Sibariboyi (PhD) - Chain-end functional amphiphilic copolymers
Chandré Smit (Post-doc) - Translational post-doc: upscale and commercialization of developed IP
Michael-Phillip Smith (MSc) - Foldamer-based biomimetic hydrogels
Ryno van Niekerk (MSc) - Phase behaviour of hetero-arm molecular brushes

Current students supervised by Rueben Pfukwa

Jaques Buys (PhD) - Block copolymer-based polymeric prodrugs
Miché Daniels (MSc) - 3D printed antimicrobial materials

Previous group members

Niels Akeroyd - currently: IFF, Hilversum (Netherlands)
Ahmed Al Aeeb - currently: Stellenbosch (South Africa)
Nathalie Bailly - currently: Noordwijk (Netherlands)
Elaine Barnard - currently: Universiteit Hasselt (Belgium)
Nusrat Begum - currently: Stellenbosch (South Africa)
Luca Bertossi - currently: LaunchLab, Stellenbosch (South Africa)
Cor Beyers - currently: EPS Europe/Valspar Cooperation (Netherlands)
Stefan Bon - currently: Warwick University, Coventry (UK)
Jelena Bozovic-Vukic - currently: SABIC, Bergen op Zoom (Netherlands)
Osama Bshena - currently: Zawia University (Libya)
Judit Canadell-Ayats - currently: AKZO Nobel (Netherlands)
Greogory Chambard - currently: Dow Corning (Belgium)
William Cloete - currently: Washington area (USA)
Paul Cools - currently: DSM Neoresins, Waalwijk (Netherlands)
Lizl Cronje - currently: Danie Cronje Attorneys, Stellenbosch (South Africa)
Mathijs de Geus - currently: EMPA, Winterthur (Switzerland)
Jacky de Letter - currently: Yara, Sluiskil (Belgium)
Patrick de Man - currently: RBS Sempra Commodities, New York City (USA)
Andrew de Vries - currently: Department of Science & Technology (South Africa)
Amanda Dodd - currently: University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg(South Africa)
Ellen Donkers - currently: Yara International, Sluiskil (Netherlands)
Hildegard du Plessis - currently: Stellenbosch (South Africa)
Sandile Dyantyi - currently: University of the Western Cape, Cape Town (South Africa)
Zaskia Eksteen - currently: Twente University, Enschede (Netherlands)
Reda Fleet - currently: Kansai-Plascon, Stellenbosch (South Africa)
Lisa Fortuin - currently: KTH, Stockholm (Sweden)
Mark S Frahn - currently: Saint Petersburg College, Tarpon Springs campus, Florida (USA)
Maurice Frijns - currently: AKZO Nobel, Deventer (Netherlands)
Gabriela Garbonova - currently: University of Birmingham (UK)
Patricia Geelen - currently: CoPo Solutions, Buchten (Netherlands)
Johnel Giliomee - currently: University of Witwatersrand, Johannesburg (South Africa)
Sven Graef - currently: Sasol (South Africa)
Chuma Gqola - currently: Stellenbosch University (South Africa)
Njabu Gule - currently: Stellenbosch University (South Africa)
Waled Hadasha - currently: Stellenbosch (South Africa)
Elrika Harmzen - currently: Beam Analytical (Pty) Ltd, Stellenbosch (South Africa)
Nelmari Harmzen - currently: Neo Paints, Windhoek (Namibia)
Marie Claire Hermant - currently: BASF, Ludwigshafen (Germany)
Ingrid Heyns - currently: University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, AL (USA)
Lebohang Hlalele - currently: Flint Group AB (Sweden)
Lisanne IJgosse - currently: Utrecht (Netherlands)
Alex Ilchev - currently: University of Nottingham (UK)
Jaco Jacobs - currently: Stryker (Ireland)
Rick Janssen - currently: Stahl, Waalwijk (Netherlands)
Simba Jokonya - currently: University of Washington, Seattle, WA (USA)
Hamilton Kakwere – currently: University of California, Davis (USA)
Anna Kargaard - currently: QPharma AB, Malmö (Sweden)
Peter Kelemen - currently: VUCHT j.s.c., Šaľa (Slovakia)
Renier Kemp - currently: Tessara, Epping (South Africa)
Jules Kierkels - currently: Anteryon, Eindhoven (Netherlands)
Eugene Lakay - currently: Mintek, Gauteng (South Africa)
Marvin Langlais - currently: France
Norah Maithufi - currently: Sasol Polymers, Johannesburg (South Africa)
Nellie Mama - currently: Nelson Mandela University (South Africa)
Feziwe Mamba - currently: South Africa
Siyasanga Mbizana - currently: Fine Chemicals Company, Epping (South Africa)
James McLeary - currently: BASF, Gauteng (South Africa)
Freda Meltz - currently: Sasol, Secunda (South Africa)
Sthembile Mhlongo - currently: CSIR, Pretoria (South Africa)
Andre Michler - currently: Afriplex, Paarl (South Africa)
Precious Mongwaketsi - currently: iThemba Labs, Somerset-West (South Africa)
Khotso Mpitso - currently: University of the Free State, Qwaqwa Campus, Phuthaditjhaba (South Africa)
Udi Narsingh - currently: Cape Peninsula University of Technology, Cape Town (South Africa)
Priscilla Nyakombi - currently: Tessara, Epping (South Africa)
Frans Olmanst - currently: Olmanst Industrial Automation, Eindhoven (Netherlands)
Harry Philipsen - currently: DSM Resolve, Geleen (Netherlands)
Mpho Phiri - currently: Nelson Mandela University, Port Elizabeth (South Africa)
Gwenaelle Pound-Lana - currently: CNRS, Grenoble (France)
Paul Reader - currently: rain South Africa, Cape Town (South Africa)
Joris Salari - currently: TNO, Eindhoven (Netherlands)
Mike Schellekens - currently: DSM Neoresins, Waalwijk (Netherlands)
Chris Scholtens - currently: Tejin Aramid, Nijmegen (Netherlands)
Ahson Shaikh - currently: COMSATS Institute of Information Technology, Peshawar (Pakistan)
Martina Slawinski - currently: Total Petrochemicals, Brussels (Belgium)
Auke Snijder - currently: AKZO Nobel, Sassenheim (Netherlands)
Bastiaan Staal - currently: BASF, Ludwigshafen (Germany)
Maarten Staal - currently: BASF, Raleigh-Durham (USA)
Wim Staal - currently: Staalmeesters Consultancy (Netherlands)
Andri Swanepoel - currently: CSIR, Pretoria (South Africa)
Lebusetsu Taleli - currently: H3D, Cape Town (South Africa)
Hector Tello-Manon - currently: COMEX (Mexico)
Gözde Tuzcu - currently: PTG Eindhoven (Netherlands)
Eric van den Dungen - currently: AKZO Nobel, Sassenheim (The Netherlands)
Jarl Ivar van der Vlugt - currently: University of Amsterdam (Netherlands)
Alet van der Westhuyzen - currently: Emory University, Atlanta, GA, USA
Bas van Deursen - currently: Oleon, Breda (Netherlands)
Marieke van Rens - currently: Open University, Tilburg (Netherlands)
Welmarie van Schalkwyk - currently: SciCorp Laboratories, Pietermaritsburg (South Africa)
Judith van Wijk - currently: Eastman, Middelburg (Netherlands)
Shane van Wyk - currently: Stellenbosch (South Africa)
Andre van Zyl - currently: SABIC, Bergen op Zoom (Netherlands)
Rajan Venkatesh - currently: BASF, Mumbai (India)
Lehani Verwey - currently: Apollo Tyres, Enschede (Netherlands)
Inge Weideman - currently: Stellenbosch Nanofiber Company, Cape Town (South Africa)
Nicole Whiting - currently: The Really Great Teacher Company, Tygervalley (South Africa)
Celeste Wilken – currently: Sasol, Sasolburg (South Africa)
Simone Wubbe - currently: Synthomer, Frankfurt (Germany)