Joint degrees at Stellenbosch University

The Postgraduate Office (PGO) in the Division for Research Development (DRD) is the institutional custodian of the University’s policy on joint degrees at Master’s and Doctoral level. SU has agreements with a limited number of partner institutions in different countries for the enrolment of joint degree candidates. Most of the agreements are for enrolment at doctoral level. The list of possible institutions with whom SU can enrol joint degree candidates changes as new agreements arise. Currently, we have joint PhD agreements with the following institutions:

Coventry University

Université de Bordeaux

Universiteit Antwerpen

Erasmus University Rotterdam

Université Jean Monnet Saint-Etienne

University of Groningen

Ghent University

Université Rouen

University of Hamburg

Hasselt University

Makerere University

University of Leipzig

Karolinska Institutet

Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen

Utrecht University

KU Leuven

Universidade Federal de Ouro Preto

Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam

Macquarie University

Université Claude Bernard Lyon 1

Vrije Universiteit Brussel

The PGO manages the institution’s joint degree programmes. This includes putting institutional arrangements in place (should these not exist and in accordance with the policy) and managing the contracts of individual candidates according to the agreement governing their joint enrolment.



Back to Top