Language at SU

Stellenbosch University is located in the Western Cape province of South Africa, where the three official languages are English, Afrikaans and isiXhosa. As such, the University is a multilingual institution, using these three languages. English and Afrikaans are our languages of learning and teaching, while we contribute to the advancement of isiXhosa as an academic language, and also continue to expand it as an internal language of communication.

Language Assistance 

The Stellenbosch University Language Centre is a vibrant hub for students, staff and clients who require language and communication assistance. The Centre brings together experts in the field of language acquisition, translation, editing, interpreting, corporate communication, research and document design.

Visit to find out how they can help you.

Back to Top