AU/NEPAD Southern African Network of Water Centres of Excellence

The AU/NEPAD Southern African Network of Water Centres of Excellence (AU/NEPAD SANWATCE) is a network of higher education and research institutions conducting high-end scientific research and capacity development in water and related sectors, in order to achieve impact in societies. The AU/NEPAD SANWATCE Secretariat is hosted by the Centre of Collaboration in Africa hosted within SU International. At the core of the AU/NEPAD SANWATCE activities is research capacity development in the SADC water sector. The Network received its mandate from the African Union, the African Ministers Council on Science and Technology (AMCOST) as well as the African Ministers Council on Water (AMCOW) in 2006 which entailed the development of networks of centres of excellence on the continent to foster sustainable capacity development at institutional, higher education, technical, scientific and vocational level in continent’s water sector under the New Partnership for Africa’s development (NEPAD) office of science and technology. Current membership stands at 11 centres of excellence (CoEs) in eight SADC Member States

Member institutions include

  • University of Botswana (Botswana)                                            
  • University of Malawi (Malawi)                                                  
  • University of Mauritius (Mauritius)                                          
  • Namibia University of Science and Technology (Namibia)                
  • Universidade Eduardo Mondlane (Mozambique)                             
  • The Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (South Africa)  
  • Stellenbosch University (South Africa)                                            
  • University of KwaZulu-Natal (South Africa)                                    
  • University of Western Cape (South Africa)                                     
  • University of Zambia (Zambia)                                                
  • National University of Science and Technology (Zimbabwe)       

These institutions act as nodes in their respective countries

The AU/NEPAD SANWATCE focus areas are:

  1. Research and development (including infrastructure) through innovation
  2. Human capacity development
  3. Research utilization, impact and evaluation
  4. Outreach and  strategic partnerships

More information about AU/NEPAD SANWATCE here.

Contact the secretariat at


No Comments

Back to Top