Mobility opportunities in Africa

Bilateral Exchange partners: Africa

  •  University of Botswana, BOTSWANA
  •  University of Yaoundé, Cameroon
  •  University of Ghana, GHANA
  •  Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST), GHANA
  •  University of Nairobi, KENYA
  •   Kenyatta University, Kenya
  •  University of Malawi, MALAWI
  •  University Eduardo Mondlane, MOZAMBIQUE
  •  University of Namibia, NAMIBIA
  •  University of Dar es Salaam, TANZANIA
  •  Makerere University, UGANDA
  •  University of Zimbabwe, ZIMBABWE


Africa Collaboration Grant 

The Centre for Collaboration in Africa (CCA) at SU International, invites applications for the 12th call of the Africa Collaboration Grant (ACG). The ACG has been expanded to also offer Conference Grants to postgraduate students and Partner Development Grants for postdoctoral fellows, in addition to opportunities for Stellenbosch University staff. The call for applications to the ACG has also been restructured on a semester basis:

Apply here


Intra-Africa Academic Mobility Scheme 

The Intra-Africa Academic Mobility Scheme supports higher education cooperation between countries in Africa. The scheme aims to promote sustainable development and ultimately contribute to poverty reduction by increasing the availability of trained and qualified high-level professional manpower in Africa.

The programme's objective is to improve the skills and competences of students and staff through enhanced mobility between African countries. Strengthening cooperation between Higher Education Institutions (HEIs) in Africa will increase access to quality education and will encourage and enable African students to undertake postgraduate studies in the African continent. Furthermore, mobility of staff (academic and administrative) will enhance the international cooperation capacity of HEIs in Africa. More precisely, the Intra-Africa Academic Mobility Scheme aims to:

  • contribute to the improvement of the quality of higher education through the promotion of internationalisation and harmonisation of programmes and curricula within participating institutions;
  • enable students, academics and staff to benefit linguistically, culturally and professionally from the experience gained in the context of mobility to another African country.

The Intra-Africa Academic Mobility Scheme is set up under the Pan-African Programme (Development Cooperation Instrument) and is based on the experience of the Intra-ACP Academic Mobility Scheme.

Please view the Intra-Africa Mobility page for more info (  and also the specific Call page for details on the Call, including the Guidelines, info on how to apply, forms etc. (


TRECCAFRICA II study and mobility opportunities

TRECCAFRICA II invites applications from African nationals to participate in a master’s exchange mobility, master’s full-time studies, doctoral exchange mobility or staff mobility. The TRECCAFRICA academic programmes range across disciplines such as sustainable development, environmental management, renewable energy, food science and technology natural resource assessment, climate and society, biotechnology, agro-ecology, soil physics, microbiology and veterinary medicine.

 A full list of programmes are available at

The mobility must be undertaken at one of the following TRECCAFRICA partner universities: University of Botswana, University of Dar es Salaam (Tanzania), University of Ghana, Mekelle University (Ethiopia), University of Nairobi (Kenya) and Stellenbosch University (South Africa).

Contact: Ms Norma Derby,, Tel 021 808 9155

Back to Top