Mobility opportunities in Africa

Bilateral Exchange partners: Africa

  •  University of Botswana, BOTSWANA
  •  University of Yaoundé, Cameroon
  •  University of Ghana, GHANA
  •  Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST), GHANA
  •  University of Nairobi, KENYA
  •   Kenyatta University, Kenya
  •  University of Malawi, MALAWI
  •  University Eduardo Mondlane, MOZAMBIQUE
  •  University of Namibia, NAMIBIA
  •  University of Dar es Salaam, TANZANIA
  •  Makerere University, UGANDA
  •  University of Zimbabwe, ZIMBABWE

Contact: Ms Yolanda Johnson, , Tel 021 808 9462


INTRA ACP staff mobility exchanges

SU is a member of five consortiums, comprising 37 other universities in Africa where these motilities are hosted. The mobility opportunities include benchmarking exercises, sabbatical research periods, guest lecturing, curriculum development, knowledge and resource sharing.

Contact: Ms Norma Derby,, Tel 021 808 9155


PAFROID staff exchange mobility grants

Applications are invited for PAFROID staff exchange mobility grants. SU academic and administrative staff can apply from 14 July to 15 September 2017. The PAFROID project is an inter-university partnership between Africa and the Indian Ocean-Development and aims to develop partnerships between Higher Education Institutions (HEIs) in the Indian Ocean region and continental Africa. The partnership project involves five regions in Africa and covers two working languages; French and English.

It is coordinated by the University of Antananarivo, (Madagascar); with members of the partnership including: Institut Superieur de Technologie D'Antananarivo, (Madagascar); Universite d' Antsirana, (Madagascar); University of Mauritius, (Mauritius);  Universite des Comores, (Comores);  Stellenbosch University, (South Africa); Universite de Yaounde I, (Cameroon); Universite de Ouagadougou, (Bukina Faso);  Universite Cheik Anta Diop de Dakar, (Senegal);  Universite Ibn Tofail-Kenitra, (Morocco);  Universite de Lome, (Togo); and with the University of Reunion, (France) as a technical partner, The mobilities consists of masters, doctoral, academic and administrative staff exchanges. The themes are focused on science, engineering, energy and agriculture priority areas in the development of African countries

Get more information here:


TRECCAFRICA II study and mobility opportunities

TRECCAFRICA II invites applications from African nationals to participate in a master’s exchange mobility, master’s full-time studies, doctoral exchange mobility or staff mobility. The TRECCAFRICA academic programmes range across disciplines such as sustainable development, environmental management, renewable energy, food science and technology natural resource assessment, climate and society, biotechnology, agro-ecology, soil physics, microbiology and veterinary medicine.

 A full list of programmes are available at

The mobility must be undertaken at one of the following TRECCAFRICA partner universities: University of Botswana, University of Dar es Salaam (Tanzania), University of Ghana, Mekelle University (Ethiopia), University of Nairobi (Kenya) and Stellenbosch University (South Africa).

To apply, go to


Back to Top