Other Mobility Opportunities

New call for applications: International Collaboration Mobility

SU International is proud to launch the International Collaboration Mobility Grant as part of the staff mobility offering for 2018. The grant provides funding for SU academic and support staff to strengthen collaboration with counterparts at institutions abroad.

This call excludes mobility to African and BRICS countries. If you are interested in collaboration with in Africa or the BRICS countries, please apply for the African Collaboration Grant or the BRICS Collaboration Grant.

 More information is available here.


The Centre for Collaboration in Africa (CCA) at the SU International, invites applications for the ninth call of the Africa Collaboration Grant (ACG). The ACG is being expanded to also offer Conference Grants to postgraduate students and Partner Development Grants for Post-Doctoral Fellows, in addition to opportunities for Stellenbosch University staff. The call for applications to the ACG has also been restructured on a semester basis:

Call date

Time frame for costs incurred

October 2017

1 January 2018 to 30 June 2018

April 2018

1 July 2018 to 31 December 2018

The emphasis of the awards made by SU International is in support of the internationalization of a) the specific academic environment and b) the institution.

Detailed information on the call is set out in this document. For further information, please contact Mr. Nico Elema (Manager: Centre for Collaboration in Africa (CCA) at nicoelema@sun.ac.za and copy Ms. Yolanda Johnson, Finance Officer: CCA at yjohnson@sun.ac.za



Category 1: Workshop/conference jointly organised with partner/partners from one of SU’s institutional bilateralpartners in Africa (up to R80, 000) – aimed at SU staff.
Category 2: Research visits to and from one or more of SU’s institutional bilateral partners in Africa (up to R30, 000)–aimed at SU staff.
Category 3: Conference Grants to attend an academic conference on the African continent (Up to R20, 000)– aimedat Postgraduate students.
Category 4: Postdoctoral Partner Development Grant - visit to one or more of SU International bilateral partners in Africa (up to R30, 000) – aimed at Post-doctoral Fellows


  • Only full-time staff members (permanent or contract) of Stellenbosch University qualify for Category 1 andCategory 2.
  • Full- time and part-time Postgraduate students of the Stellenbosch University qualify for Category 3.
  • Full-time Postdoctoral Fellows qualify for Category 4.
  • Projects involving collaborators based at one or more of the following institutions are eligible:

University of Botswana, Botswana

Makerere University, Uganda

University of Antananarivo, Madagascar

University of Nairobi, Kenya

University of Ghana, Ghana

University of Namibia, Namibia

Justo Mwale Theological University, Zambia

Kenyatta University, Kenya

University of Malawi, Malawi

University of Dar es Salaam,          Tanzania

University of Yaoundé I, Cameroon

University of Zimbabwe, Zimbabwe

EiABC, Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia

Omar Bongo University, Gabon

American University of Cairo, Egypt

Midlands State University, Zimbabwe

Reformed Church University, Zimbabwe

The University of Science and Technology Houari Boumediene, Algeria

University of Bagamoyo, Tanzania

Eduardo Mondlane University, Mozambique


Click here for terms and conditions. 

Click here to download an application form. 



6 November 2017 for expenses from January – June 2018 


Back to Top