CAREERS
Careers

A major in Political Science enables you to join a broad range of interesting and practice-oriented post-graduate programmes, at this university, elsewhere in South Africa, and internationally. Political Science graduates go on to become, amongst others:

 

  • Managers in the private and public sector
  • Business entrepreneurs
  • Journalists and public relations specialists
  • Diplomats
  • Lawyers
  • Political analysts
  • Organisers and activists in non-governmental organizations (NGOs) and social movements
  • Officials of international organizations such as the United Nations
  • Consultants
  • Aid and relief workers for international bodies
  • Managers of political and other public campaigns
  • Researchers on national and international public affairs
  • Negotiators
  • Peace builders
  • Military and security specialists
  • International election monitors
  • Political advisors

Below are some websites of various public and private sector institutions that work in the field of Political Science / International Relations:

 

 

Institute for Security Studies:  http://issafrica.org

South African Insititute of International Affairs:  http://www.saiia.org.za/

Department of International Relations and Cooperation (RSA): http://www.dfa.gov.za/employment/index.html

The African Centre for the Constructive Resolution of Disputes (ACCORD): http://www.accord.org.za/

Institute for Global Dialogue:  http://www.igd.org.za/

Institute for Justice and Reconciliation:  http://www.ijr.org.za/

Africa Institute:  http://www.ai.org.za/

Centre for Conflict Resolution:  http://www.ccr.uct.ac.za/index.php?id=122

Doctors without Borders:  http://www.msf.org.za

UN agencies in South Africa:  http://www.un.org.za

South African NGO portal:  http://www.ngopulse.org/group/home-page/vacancies

Frontier Advisory:  http://www.frontieradvisory.com/

Foreign Policy Association Job Board:  http://www.fpa.org/jobs_contact2423/jobs_contact.htm

UN Jobs: https://jobs.un.org

World Aware:  https://www.worldaware.com/

S-RM:  https://www.s-rminform.com/

Control Risks:  https://www.controlrisks.com/

Eurasia Group:  https://www.eurasiagroup.net/

Signal Risk:  https://www.signalrisk.com/

African Economics:  https://www.africaneconomics.com/