The Centre for Sustainability Transitions (CST)

The Stellenbosch Centre for Sustainability Transitions (CST) is a Stellenbosch University ‘flagship’ initiative established in 2015.

This initiative brings together complexity thinking, sustainability science and transdisciplinary research methodology.

Research at the CST is largely conducted in collaborative inter- and transdisciplinary teams that draw in expertise from different disciplines as well as from policy, practice and local stakeholders. Much of the research is funded by external project grants, and students are part of the larger project teams which provides additional opportunities for learning and research support.

CST has the following cross-cutting research themes:

  1. Governance
  2. Entrepreneurship & Innovation
  3. Social-Ecological Resilience
  4. Decoupling & Resource Flows
  5. Complexity & Systems Modelling
  6. Transdisciplinarity

These cross-cutting themes are applied to the following empirical research fields:

  • Food Systems
  • Water Systems
  • Energy Systems
  • Urban Systems

The centre is funded in part by Stellenbosch University, and in part by the National Research Foundation, plus project funding from a range of sources. The CST is located at the STIAS Wallenberg Centre in the Old Stables. Please find our contact details here.

If you are interested in pursuing your Master’s, PhD or Post Doctoral research through the CST please click here to read about further study opportunities. CST has its own research commons where staff and students can collaborate and interact. The access-controlled facilities at The Stables include staff offices, the research commons, a boardroom and lounge area. It is equipped with workstations, a boardroom for meetings and a lounge area for discussion and relaxation with a mini in-house library. The main aim of the CST Research Commons is to enhance the CST’s contribution to postgraduate through-put and research output by providing a conducive environment for researchers, which directly support research endeavours of postgraduate students and researchers.

The CST is privileged to benefit from the leadership of a governing board which consists of:

Prof. Ingrid Woolard – Ex Officio; Chair
Economic and Management Sciences
Stellenbosch University

Prof. Eugene Cloete – Ex Officio
Vice-Rector: Research, Innovation and Postgraduate Studies
Stellenbosch University

Prof. Desta Mebratu
Extraordinary Professor at Centre for Complex Systems in Transition
Stellenbosch University

Prof. Karen Esler
Head of the Department of Conservation Ecology & Entomology
Stellenbosch University

Prof. Lesley Le Grange
Distinguished Professor in the Faculty of Education
Stellenbosch University

Prof. Ntshengedzeni Mamphweli
Stellenbosch University

Dr Amollo Ambole
Program Director
African Mayoral Leadership Initiative
African Centre for Cities

Dr Nthabiseng Moleko
Senior Lecturer
Business School
Stellenbosch University

Prof. Mark Swilling – Ex officio
Stellenbosch University

Prof. Oonsie Biggs – Ex Officio
Stellenbosch University