The Faculty of Theology at Stellenbosch University is an ecumenical faculty which provides academic training in Christian theology according to different confessional convictions and church traditions. The Faculty of Theology (established in 1963) developed out of the Theological Seminary of the Dutch Reformed Church (DRC), which was founded in 1859. It is an open faculty which also trains ministers, per agreement, for the following denominations:

  • Dutch Reformed Church (DRC)
  • Uniting Reformed Church in Southern Africa (URCSA)
  • Uniting Presbyterian Church in Southern Africa (UPCSA)
  • Anglican Church of Southern Africa (ACSA)
  • Volkskerk
  • United Evangelical Lutheran Church in Southern Africa (UELCSA)

The Faculty of Theology, one of the smallest faculties at the University, is a hospitable, energetic and creative faculty in which scientific theology is practised with integrity.

The academic offering, with Christian Reformed theology as point of departure, was broadened with the incorporation of a Youth Work programme and the development of a new curriculum which offers a wide range of options for undergraduate students regarding teaching and research. The undergraduate and postgraduate programmes of the Faculty accommodates students from various communities, churches and countries.

   Language of instruction

Undergraduate classes are conducted in parallel medium (separate contact sessions in Afrikaans and English) or bilingually (contact sessions in both English and Afrikaans), according to the language competency of the students.

   Advanced studies

Do consider one of our postgraduate programmes if you:

  • have graduated in some other field of study and are now interested in continuing with studies in theology;
  • wish to follow a career in church or Christian ministry; or
  • are interested in specialising after obtaining an undergraduate qualification in theology.

See the Faculty of Theology website for further information.


Dean's Office (Marieke Brand)

Tel: 021 808 2142


The Faculty Administrator (Shirle Cornelissen)

Tel: 021 808 4850