Skip to main content

Annien Shaw

By August 24, 2022April 4th, 2024Uncategorized
Dr Annien Shaw is a soloist, chamber musician, baroque violinist and teacher based in Cape Town, having studied with Suzanne Martens, Jan Repko, Farida Bacharova and Louis van der Watt. She holds a PhD in Performance Practice from the University of Cape Town, a PGDip and FRSM in solo performance from the Royal Northern College of Music in Manchester UK, and a Masters in Chamber Music from the University of Stellenbosch.

Annien has extensive orchestral experience through her former employment with the Jeunesses Musicales World Orchestra, KZN Philharmonic as well as the Cape Town Philharmonic orchestra. As a chamber musician she led the award-winning Stellenbosch University Postgraduate String Quartet on two international tours as well as being a founding member of the renowned Juliet String Quartet. The Juliet Quartet are active promotors of new South African compositions and have premiered works by Feder, Harley, Schonken, Adams and Hattingh.

She has been actively involved in the developing Baroque scene in Cape Town as a member of the Cape Consort and a Guest Concert Master and soloist of the Camerata Tinta Barocca (CTB). Her interest in baroque violin was sparked by Darragh Morgan and his involvement with the Baroque 2000 group based in KwaZulu Natal in Durban of which she was a member from 2004 to 2009. During her studies at RNCM, she took baroque violin lessons with Pauline Nobes and upon her return to Cape Town has had many masterclasses with Antoinette Lohmann. Annien is a regular attendant of the Tafelmusik Baroque Summer Institue where she receives classes from Julia Wedman.

Annien is the founding member of The Flat Mountain Project and as a student of performance practice, she has a keen interest in artistic research. In 2012 she was awarded a FRSM Diploma from the ABRSM for demonstrating the different uses of neo-classicism in the compositions of Stravinsky and Prokovief. Her PhD research into the fingerings principles of Louis Spohr is intended as a guideline for performance practice and is accompanied by a practical component of four recitals, including chamber works, solo violin works and three concerti. Annien has lectured at Rhodes University and University of Cape Town in repertoire studies, teaching methodology, chamber music, orchestral studies, violin and viola as subjects and is currently a part-time lecture at Stellenbosch University.

Leave a Reply

Close Menu