Our Department

The Stellenbosch Department of Philosophy is one of the oldest in South Africa and offers an excellent education from undergraduate to PhD level. Our staff are all highly regarded researchers and teachers with expertise in a wide range of fields, including moral philosophy, philosophy of science, philosophy of mind and cognition, metaphysics, philosophy of language, African philosophy, phenomenology, political philosophy, feminist theory, critical legal theory and critical social theory. We also have a renowned Centre for Applied Ethics, with research units devoted to biomedical ethics, business ethics, environmental ethics, and social and political ethics. For more information on specific programmes or initiatives, click on the appropriate links.