Unit for Business Ethics and Public Integrity

Unit for Business Ethics and Public Integrity



Teaching Staff

Director of the Centre for Applied Ethics and Head of Unit for Business Ethics: Prof Minka Woermann

Contact details: minka@sun.ac.za

Minka Woermann​ (PhD Philosophy) is an Associate Professor in the Department of Philosophy and Director of the Centre for Applied Ethics. She also serves as vice-chair of the Social and Business Ethics Committee of Council.

She is the author of Bridging Complexity and Post-Structuralism: Insights and Implications (Springer, 2016) and of On the (Im)Possibility of Business Ethics: Critical Complexity, Deconstruction, and Implications for Understanding the Ethics of Business (Springer, 2013). She has contributed to several textbooks on business ethics, was the lead author of Stellenbosch University’s Integrated Code of Ethics (Code 2040), and  served as the editor-in-chief of the African Journal of Business Ethics from 2013 to 2016.

Dr Schalk Engelbrecht

Schalk Engelbrecht (PhD Philosophy) is an Associate Director and Chief Ethics Officer within KPMG South Africa. He is responsible for KPMG’s internal ethics programme, but also assists client organisations in assessing ethics risk (or “ethical culture”), developing Codes of Ethics, facilitating ethics training and monitoring and reporting on ethics performance. He is a Research Associate with the Centre for Applied Ethics at Stellenbosch University. His research interests include business ethics, utopian thinking and critical social theory.

Prof Deon Rossouw

Deon Rossouw (PhD Philosophy) is CEO of the Ethics Institute of South Africa and Extraordinary Professor in Philosophy at the University of Stellenbosch. He was the Founding President of the Business Ethics Network Africa (BEN-Africa) and served as the President of the International Society of Business, Economics and Ethics (ISBEE). He is a member of the King Committee on Corporate Governance, and a Chartered Director. He has written several textbooks on business and professional ethics, and has published in a number of prestigious business ethics journals. 


Julio Andrade (PhD Philosophy) is a research associate in the Unit. He is also a member of the editorial board of Springer’s Journal of Business Ethics. He has published papers on whistleblowing, and the work of philosopher Emmanuel Levinas, focusing on the application of Levinas to various applied ethics disciplines. He is a certified ethics officer, an associate at The Ethics Institute, South Africa and the past secretary-general of the Business Ethics Network of Africa. Andrade’s first monograph, Morally-demanding Infinite Responsibility: The Supererogatory Attitude of Levinasian Normativity was published with Springer.

Liezl Groenewald (PhD Applied Ethics) is a research associate in the Unit. She is Senior Manager at The Ethics Institute, co-founding director of the Whistleblower House, Advisory Board Member of Visslan, Advisory Board Member of BEN-Africa, and lecturer at MCI, Innsbruck.